Ensemble Auditions

Ensemble Audition Information

Fall 2022


All auditions will take place on Monday, August 15th and Tuesday, August 16th.  Winds and Percussion interested in auditioning for ANY concert ensemble, please fill out BOTH forms at the links below.

Fall 2022 Large Ensemble Audition Music

Link – CLICK HERE for ALL instruments

(Winds/Strings/Percussion)

  • Violin: Students will also be asked to play 2 minutes of a solo violin piece of their choice.

Questions regarding excerpts/placement in ensembles should be directed to the appropriate faculty member below.

Flute: Dr. Schultz dbschultz@ua.edu
Oboe: Dr. Bailey mlbailey7@ua.edu
Bassoon: Dr. Frederiksen rfrederiksen@ua.edu
Clarinet: Dr. Molina ojmolina@ua.edu
Saxophone: Dr. Noffsinger jnoffsin@ua.edu
Trumpet: Dr. Yates eyates@music.ua.edu
Horn: Professor Snead ssnead@ua.edu
Trombone: Dr. Whitaker jwhitaker@ua.edu
Euphonium: Dr. Crawford jeremy.s.crawford@ua.edu
Tuba: Dr. Crawford jeremy.s.crawford@ua.edu
Percussion: Dr. Lynge amlynge@ua.edu
Violin: Professor Grégoire jgregoire@ua.edu
Viola: Dr. Adams jwadams3@ua.edu
Cello: Dr. Molina mmolina1@ua.edu
Bass: Mr. Crofut bcrofut@ua.edu

Concert Band Only

If you are interested in Concert Band OR placed in Concert Band, you will have a separate audition that will include your chromatic scale and sight-reading.  Concert Band chair placement auditions will be held the during the first class time on August 22 at 2pm.
Questions about Concert Band auditions should be sent to Mr. Potter dtpotter@ua.edu

Jazz

Fall 2022/Spring 2023 Jazz Ensemble, Jazz Lab Band, and Combo Audition Info

Please visit the following link to register for the audition and download the excerpts:

https://jazz.music.ua.edu/jazz-ensemble-and-combo-audition-information/

Auditions will take place as follows. Please check the times and attend if you are able:

  • Monday August 15th, 2022 – Auditions will begin at 1:00 PM in the Jazz Rehearsal Room 201
    • 1:00pm Saxophones
    • 2:30pm Rhythm Section (Guitar/Piano/Bass/Drum Set)
  • Tuesday August 16th, 2022 – Auditions will begin at 1:00 PM in the Jazz Rehearsal Room 201
    • 1:00pm Trumpet
    • 2:00pm Trombone

We will be running The University of Alabama Jazz Ensemble, UA Jazz Lab Band, and a combo. Here is the schedule and needs for those groups:

  • Jazz Ensemble – TR 12:30-1:50pm (Kozak)
    • 5 saxophones, 4 Trombones, 4 Trumpets, Guitar, Piano, Bass, Drum Set
  • Jazz Lab Band – TR 2-3:30pm (Kozak)
    • 5 saxophones, 4 Trombones, 4 Trumpets, Guitar, Piano, Bass, Drum Set
  • Jazz Combo – MW 2-3:30pm (Lanter)
    • Any woodwinds and Guitar, Piano, Bass, and Drum Set