The University of Alabama Bands Homepage

Wind Ensemble

The Alabama Wind Ensemble is a select group of the finest wind players and percussionists from within the University Band Program and the School of music. The ensemble has been invited to perform at prestigious events such as the College Band Directors National Association Convention, the Southern Division of the Music Educators’ National Conference and the Alabama Music Educators Association State Conference. The Alabama Wind Ensemble has commissioned and premiered works by noted composers such as Donald Grantham, Nigel Clarke, Richard Saucedo, and David Maslanka. All concerts are open to the public, free of charge and begin at 7:30 PM (unless otherwise announced). CLICK HERE to view the concerts live online (UA SOM YouTube Channel).

2018-2019 Wind Ensemble Repertoire

Thursday, September 27, 2018, 7:30 PM
Dr. Kenneth B. Ozzello, Conductor

Toccata Marziale: Williams/Frank L. Battisti
Fantasia and Fugue in C Minor: Bach/Elgar/Ryan Nowlin
Quicksilver: Stacy Garrop
Flash Black: Steven Danyew


Tuesday, November 13, 2018, 7:30 PM
Dr. Kenneth B. Ozzello, Conductor

Russlan and Ludmilla Overture: Ginka/Mark Hindsley
Tower Ascending: Wayne Oquin
Songs of the End of the World: John Mackey
Symphony No. 2 (Voices): Jim Stephenson 


Saturday, February 2, 2019 – 33rd Annual Honor Band Festival
Dr. Kenneth B. Ozzello, Conductor

 Masks and Machines: Paul Dooley
Theodore’s Anthem: Kerry Turner
A Cavalcade for 6 Horns and Symphonic Band
Josh Williams

Matt Meadows
Anthony Parrish
Skip Snead
Tony Padilla
Charlie Snead
Who’s Who in Navy Blue: John Philip Sousa
Slava!: Bernstein, trans. Clare Grundman
Captain Brian Walden, Guest Conductor
 Symphony No. 2 “Voices”: James M. Stephenson
I. Prelude: “Of Passion”
II. Shouts and Murmurs
III. Of One
Megan Saslow, Soprano


Thursday, March 21, 2019, 7:30 PM
Dr. Kenneth B. Ozzello, Conductor

Don Juan: Strauss, trans. Merlin Patterson
The Promise of Living: Copland, trans. Kenneth Singleton
Jonathan Whitaker, guest conductor
The Flight of the Elephant: Scott McAllister